New trail running shoes

I finally bought new running shoes and had a chance to take them on a good trail run this past weekend in Squamish. I’ve needed new ones for a while now as my current New Balance runners have to put it bluntly; died.

I bought the New Balance MT10 minums shoes and I couldn’t be happier with them. These shoes are minimalist barefoot shoes which are a little different from what most people would consider running shoes. If you’ve never heard of minimalist barefoot shoes, they’re a bit of a paradigm shift from the typical raised padded heel shoes.

I was introduced to barefoot running a few months ago by a colleague that started running in barefoot running shoes and he loved them. The whole concept intrigued me as I love being barefoot. In the summer, I try to be without shoes as much as I can because it just makes me feel more connected to the earth. I even remember a trip I was on in Central America where I hiked all kinds of jungle trails without shoes on as it just gave me a better sense of control and traction on slippery, wet, muddy trails. It just feels natural to me. I started to do my research and learn all about barefoot running.

For the past half century, we’ve been led by a common misconception that cushioned, padded sneakers are better for us. Science now tells us that this thinking is wrong and that we need to re learn the skill of running and use our feet the way they are designed to work. There is a lot of great information out there if you are a runner that is interested in learning more. Just Google barefoot running!

I almost bought the Vivobarefoot Breatho Trail shoes for $90. I had ordered them back in May but they never came. I finally got a call from them telling me that they were out of stock and that I would have to wait till July so I bailed on the Vivo’s and bought a pair of New Balance MT10 minums shoes from the store on Robson in Vancouver.

I read this reviewthis one and this one and then saw the video below of pro mountain trail runner Anton Krupicka. I figure if this guy does what he does in these shoes, they are more than enough for me. All the reviews were very positive with most people saying that the shoes feel like slippers and that they are a great shoe for transitioning from padded shoes to barefoot shoes.

New-Balance-Minimus-MT10As the literature states; The New Balance MT10’s are a trail running shoe built for the most aggressive trails but designed with lightweight breath-ability.

Its fitted, odor-resistant upper lets you go sock less on top while the rugged Vibram® outsole provides the protection needed for running on trails. The shoe is also very light at only 175 Grams (6.2 oz).New-Balance-Minimus-MT10-2

Here is a quick snapshot of the features.

  • 4mm drop
  • Anti-Microbial treatment
  • Barefoot friendly internal construction
  • Flexible overlays in optimal areas
  • Lightweight and extra-durable, the Cushion-Pushin’ EVA (Ethyl Vinyl Acetate) midsole rewards and supports your feet with the ultimate cushioning system, keeping feet cozy while offering unmatched resilience.
  • Lightweight mesh upper

I’ve gone for two trail runs since I got them and i’m loving these shoes.

Both runs are on my home trails in Squamish where I generally run on logging roads and dual use mountain biking trails.  You can check out my latest run on Strava.

Related articles

2 thoughts on “New trail running shoes

  1. Craig – Welcome to the wonderful world of minimalist/barefoot running. I remember when I first started and now I can’t see myself ever going back. I had a pair of those same shoes before my current pair and LOVED them. You will be super happy with those on many a trail run. Enjoy.

  2. Thanks Decker. They are some pretty awesome shoes. I’ve not really experienced any difficulty with transitioning from my old shoes as many websites have said happens. I seem to naturally want to run on my mid foot and did so to an extent with my old sneakers.

Leave a Reply

